She Couldn’t Weisel Out of My Birthday

June 2008

As I have previously admitted to, I use my birthday to get things.   Not gifts but rather a “guilt trip”.   So this year is no exception and I plan the trip to Shakamak and Jane does her sisterly duty and accompanies me. 

The cool thing about Shakamak is that it is very near my Aunt Sybil’s. (And no she doesn’t have multiple personalities).  Although she did call herself “House” since she regularly uses a cane now.  So since my birthday comes right before the fourth of July when the town of Linton goes all out with its Freedom Festival, it’s nice spending time there in what is the “calm before the storm.”

Annie, Sybil, Jane (and me)

Annie, Sybil, Jane (and me)

I will admit two days were very hot.  Which usually in southern Indiana around the 4th of July, it will be.  In fact, Jane and I spent one of those at the campground pool.  We rode bikes gently to generate a breeze, and when it got too bad, headed for the Mexican restaraunt in town.  Only this year while we were eating and before the sombrero adorns my head, Katie calls me to give me the news flash that Michael Jackson died.    Why musicians die on my birthday is beyond me, but a trend seems to have begun. 

But for whatever reason, I decide to check and see if Shakamak has sites available over the fourth.  I was sure they wouldn’t.  But they did.  At least in primitive.  And so, I actually had the foresight to reserve from then until the 5th of July so that I wouldn’t have to take my camper home, only to return a few days later.  

So before we put the camper down and move it to the primitive spot, we see a mink!  Well at the time we had no idea what it was.  Just a blank weisely looking critter that scampered across the road.  But because Jane is the internet search wizard that she is, she found out what it was. 

So like I said.  This is the year of the animal.  And this trip it was a Mink!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Brian on November 13, 2009 at 5:01 am

    O.K. looks like Jackson wasn’t the only one that died that day. Farrah Fawcett went that day too. Your also responsible for Chris Benoit, Coltin Clive, Johnny Mercer, Kenneth Hume, Stanford White, Tony Hancock, John Fieldler, Sky Saxon, Yevgeni Morgunov, and Yasmine. You need to stop having Birthdays.

    Reply

Leave a comment